North Dakota State Fair Annual Meeting a Success

Minot, N.D. — The 52nd Annual Meeting of the North Dakota State Fair Association took place on Wednesday, November 15th in at the North Dakota State Fair Event Center in Minot, ND.

Business covered at the annual meeting included the review and presentation of the Fair’s annual report and audit by State Fair Manager, Renae Korslien. Dean Aakre with the State 4-H office and Aaron Anderson with FFA presented their annual reports. Todd Berning, president of the North Dakota State Fair Foundation presented his report and the foundation’s activities during the year.

Each year the State Fair Board of Directors nominates individuals to receive the State Fair’s highest level of honor and recognition by being chosen as a North Dakota State Fair Honorary Member. This year’s membership was presented posthumously to Neil Fleming, who passed away in mid-February.  From his obituary: “Neil’s lifelong love of fairs began at age 10 at the Pembina County Fair and continued until the end of his life with long service as Secretary/Treasurer of the North Dakota Association of Fairs, three decades on the Pembina County Fair Board including a term as President, and 20 years as a member of the North Dakota State Fair Board of Directors.”

Other business covered at the annual meeting included the re-election of three board members. Kelly Hanson of Hannaford, District 2, Charles Meikle of Spiritwood, District 5, and Butch Haugland of Ambrose, District 8, will serve another term representing their districts.  Dates for the 2018 North Dakota State Fair are July 20-28. More information is available at

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *